عباس أخڤان

دراسة لحديقة

Abbas Akhavan, Study for a Garden, 2017, Bronze and gold leaf, Dimensions variable. Art Jameel Collection. Photo courtesy by the artist and The Third Line Gallery, Dubai.

تفاصيل عن العمل

الفنان

عباس أخڤان

العنوان

دراسة لحديقة

التاريخ

2017

الوسائط المستخدمة

رقائق برونزيّة وذهبيّة

المقاييس

أبعاد ومقاسات مختلفة

التقدير

مجموعة فن جميل

سيرة الفنان الذاتية

عباس أخڤان (مواليد عام 1977 بإيران) مقيم حالياً بتورنتو بكندا.

تتنوع أعمال عباس أخڤان بين المجسمات المؤقتة الخاصة بمواقع بعينها، واللوحات، والفيديو، والمجسّمات، والعروض. وتركز أعماله على البحث في الصعيد المحلي باعتباره مساحة شائكة ما بين الحفاوة والعداوة، أما أعماله الأخيرة فقد تحولت لتركز وتبحث في المساحات حول المنزل، والحديقة، والحديقة الخلفية، والمناظر الطبيعية المحلية الأخرى. أما أخر المعارض الخاصة بعباس فقد كانت  في معهد واتيس للفن المعاصر بسان فرانسيسكو (2019)، وفي معرض محطة توليد الكهرباء بتورنتو (2018)، والخط الثالث بدبي (2018)، وجاليري دوغلاس هايد بدبلن (2017)، وفيلا ستوك بميونخ (2017). كما عرضت أعماله ضمن مجموعة من المعارض في جاليريا دي أرت مودرنا ميلانو بميلانو (2017)، وجاليري توماس أرت بتورنتو (2017)، وصالة غلاطة للفن الحديث بإسطنبول (2016)، وويلكوم كوليكشن بلندن (2016)، ومتحف سولومون جوجنهايم بنيويورك (2016)، وقد حاز على جوائز فيل باك تيرنيال (2016)، وجائزة سوبي للفنون (2015)، وجائزة مجموعة أبراج للفنون (2015)، وجائزة كنستبري (2012).

www.abbasakhavan.com

مواصفات العمل

تتراوح ممارسات عبّاس أخڤان الفنية بين تركيبات مؤقّتة يُحقّقها لمواقع معيّنة، وبين الرسم والڤيديو والمجسّمات والأداء. وشكّل الإطار المنزليّ مجالاً لأبحاثه نظراً لما يمثّله من مكانٍ تتداخل فيه مظاهر الاستقبال والعدائيّة. غير أنّه في أعماله الأحدث قام بتحقيق نقلة في اهتماماته، فمضى طائفاً بين فضاءات وضروب أمكنة خارج الحضن المنزلي الداخليّ – كالحديقة والحوش وغيرهما من المجالات البيتيّة الرديفة والخارجيّة.

يتألّف هذا العمل من مجموعة أعواد نباتات مُكدّسة فوق أرضيّة صالة العرض، والتي تبدو للوهلة الأولى أعواد طبيعيّة من الخشب. وإذ تتماثل الجذوع المُستخدمة مع الخشب المتحجّر فإنّها تغدو أشبه برماحٍ أو أسلحة. وهذه الأسلحة المؤقّتة ذات الإيحاء البدائيّ جرى صبّها من البرونز؛ المادّة التي ارتبطت جذورها التاريخيّة بالصراع من أجل البقاء، وبالأسلحة، والأنصاب، والتماثيل التي تُمثّل شخصيّات أو تخلّد مناسبات عامّة.

يأتي رصد أخڤان للنباتات والطبيعة في هذا العمل، كما اعتماده لمادّة البرونز، بمثابة واسطة للتطرّق إلى تواريخ وسياسات مُحدّدة.

روابط أخرى

Abbas Akhavan

Study for a Garden

Back to collections
Abbas Akhavan, Study for a Garden, 2017, Bronze and gold leaf, Dimensions variable. Art Jameel Collection. Photo courtesy by the artist and The Third Line Gallery, Dubai.

Artwork Details

Artist

Abbas Akhavan

Title

Study for a Garden

Date

2017

Medium

Bronze and Gold Leaf

Dimensions

Variable

Credit Line

Art Jameel Collection

Artist Biography

Abbas Akhavan (b.1977, Tehran) lives and works in Toronto, Canada. 

Abbas Akhavan’s practice ranges from site-specific ephemeral installations to drawing, video, sculpture and performance. The domestic sphere, as a forked space between hospitality and hostility, has been an ongoing area of research in his practice. More recent works have shifted focus, wandering onto spaces just outside the home – the garden, the backyard, and other domesticated landscapes.  Abbas’ most recent solo exhibitions include at the Wattis Institute for Contemporary Arts, San Francisco (2019); The Power Plant Contemporary Art Gallery, Toronto (2018); The Third Line, Dubai (2018); Douglas Hyde Gallery, Dublin (2017); and Villa Stuck, Munich (2017). His work has been featured in group exhibitions at Galleria d’Arte Moderna Milano, Milano (2018); MOCA Cleveland (2017); Thames Art Gallery, Toronto (2017); SALT Galata, Istanbul (2016); Welcome Collection (London (2016); and Solomon R. Guggenheim Museum, New York (2016). He is a recipient of the Fellbach Triennial Award (2016), the Sobey Art Award (2015), the Abraaj Group Art Prize (2015) and the Kunstprei Berlin (2012).
www.abbasakhavan.com

Work Description

Abbas Akhavan often titles his works as ‘studies’, undermining the idea of expertise, and directing our focus on their ephemeral and open-ended qualities. Study for a Garden has been used as a title for many of his works, and relates to Akhavan’s ongoing research and concerns about the environment. 

This work consists of a pile of sharpened sticks stacked on the gallery floor. Akhavan’s exploration of plants and nature in this work, as well as the selection of bronze as a material, is used as a catalyst to address certain histories and politics. Resembling petrified wood, these tree branches can also be repurposed as spears or weapons. These rudimentary looking handmade makeshift weapons are cast in bronze; a material that historically has roots in survival tactics, weapons and historical monuments that record public figures or events. 

Useful Links

View Exhibition