بيتا قزل اياغ

مقاطع طلسميّة

Bita Ghezelayagh, Talismanic Fragments, 2014, Felt, carpet, wire, screws, silken thread, old pen nibs and iron, 113 x 113 cm. Art Jameel Collection. Photo courtesy of the artist.

تفاصيل عن العمل

الفنان

بيتا قزل اياغ

العنوان

مقاطع طلسميّة

التاريخ

2014

الوسائط المستخدمة

لباد، سجاد، شرائط، براغي، خيوط حريرية، مطبوعات، مدببات أقلام، وحديد.

المقاييس

113 x 113 سم

التقدير

مجموعة فن جميل

سيرة الفنان الذاتية

بيتا قزل اياغ (1966، فلورنسا) تقيم وتعمل بين طهران وإيران ولندن بالمملكة المتحدة.

بيتا قزل اياغ هي فنانة منسوجات مبدعة ينصب اهتمامها في إعادة تفسير المنسوجات الإسلامية لتتماشى مع سياق فني حديث. تجسد أعمالها صفات مثل البساطة وثقل الوزن والمرونة حيث لاحظت أن مثل هذه الصفات غالباً ما يتم تجاهلها في المسيرة الإيرانية إلى الحداثة. حصلت بيتا على درجة الماجستير في العمارة من باريس ودرجة في الطباعة الفنية من لندن. كما كان لبيتا العديد من المعارض الفردية الحديثة في قاعة “”Asia House في لندن (2017)؛ متحف “الفن المعاصر” في الشارقة (2014)؛ ومتحف “فيكتوريا وألبرت” في لندن (2011)؛ “المتحف البريطاني” في لندن (2011)؛ مركز بيروت للمعارض في بيروت (2011)؛ معهد العالم العربي في باريس (2011 -2012)؛ مركز بانكو الثقافي ريو دي جانيرو – ساوباولو في البرازيل (2010 – 2011). وفي عام 2011، تم ترشيحها لجائزة جميل للفن الإسلامي. تُعرض أعمالها ضمن المجموعات الدائمة للمتحف البريطاني بلندن؛ ومؤسسة “فرجام” في دبي؛ مؤسسة “ديفي للفنون” في دلهي؛ مؤسسة Lajevardi في طهران؛ مؤسسة ” فن جميل”  في المملكة العربية السعودية.

مواصفات العمل

 عملت بيتا قزل اياغ مهندسة معمارية ومخرجة فنية للأفلام، وبدأت في العام 2003 بدراسة صناعة البسط واللباد الإيرانيّة التقليديّة حيث استلهمت القطع الطلسميّة التقليديّة التي تُرتدى لردّ الفأل السيّء في جبهات القتال. واستُخدم في العديد من تلك القطع بالأصل مواد فاخرة لصناعتها، غير أنّ قزل اياغ تقوم باستبدال تلك العناصر الفاخرة بمواد الحياة اليوميّة الشائعة في البيئات الريفيّة، كاللباد. ويستحضر اللباد في صناعته عناصر البساطة والثقل والمرونة. كما أنّه يصل الماضي بالحاضر، ويمثّل استمراراً لواحدٍ من التقاليد التي تراها قزل اياغ مُعرّضة للضياع والزوال في إيران اليوم.

يتألّف “مقاطع طلسميّة” من تصاميم تحاكي تصاميم قطع البلاط. وتضمّ قطع المربّعات المتماثلة بأحجامها ونقشاتها، وفي كلّ واحدة منها، مقطعاً صُمم ليستحضر قيم التقاليد والمحافظة، مع تركيز خاصّ على الإيمان بالتعاويذ والأبعاد الطلسميّة. وقزل اياغ المتأثّرة بالثقافة الشعبيّة في حقبة ما بعد الثورة، تلجأ لتأليف مسطّحات أعمالها إلى استخدام أشكال المفاتيح المعدنيّة، والتيجان، وأزهار الزنبق، والبنادق الرشّاشة، وغيرها من شعارات الشارع، المقترنة بجمل مطبوعة وبأشكال طباعيّة حريريّة وتطريزيّة.

روابط أخرى

View Exhibition

Bita Ghezelayagh

Talismanic Fragments

Back to collections
Bita Ghezelayagh, Talismanic Fragments, 2014, Felt, carpet, wire, screws, silken thread, old pen nibs and iron, 113 x 113 cm. Art Jameel Collection. Photo courtesy of the artist.

Artwork Details

Artist

Bita Ghezelayagh

Title

Talismanic Fragments

Date

2014

Medium

Felt, carpet, wire, screws, silken thread, print, old pen nibs and iron

Dimensions

113 x 113 cm

Credit Line

Art Jameel Collection

Artist Biography

Bita Ghezelayagh (b. 1966, Florence) lives and works between Tehran, Iran and London, UK.

Bita Ghezelayagh is a textile artist, with an interest in reinterpreting Islamic textiles for a modern artistic context. Her works are an embodiment of qualities such as simplicity, heft and resilience, which she noticed are often disregarded in the Irani march to modernity. She holds a Master’s degree in architecture from Paris and a printmaking degree from London. Bita has had recent solo shows at Asia House, London (2017); Museum of Contemporary Art, Sharjah (2014); and Victoria and Albert Museum, London (2011); British Museum, London (2011); Beirut Exhibition Centre, Beirut (2011); Institut du Monde Arabe, Paris (2011-12); Centro Cultural Banco do Brasil, Rio de Janeiro, Sao Paulo and Brasilia (2010-11). In 2011 she was shortlisted for the Jameel Prize for Islamic Art. Her work is in the permanent collections of the British Museum, London; The Farjam Foundation, Dubai; Devi Art Foundation, Delhi; Lajevardi Foundation, Tehran; and Jameel Foundation, Saudi Arabia.

Work Description

Talismanic Fragments was inspired by the art of felt-making among Turkmen women, and each piece evokes tile designs evident throughout the Middle East. Similar in size and pattern, each square contains a fragment designed to provoke reflection on the values of tradition and conservation, with particular emphasis on talismanic beliefs. 

Influenced by post-revolutionary popular culture, Ghezelayagh uses found objects and other street symbols combined with printed phrases, silk screen printing and embroidery to cover the surface of her work. Felt embodies qualities such as protection, heft and resilience. It also connects the past to the present, and reserves one of many traditions that Ghezelayagh believes is becoming lost in contemporary Iran.

Useful Links

View Exhibition