سينثيا مارسيل

الفصل السادس (من "سيساشن سيريز: ذا تمبيست")

Cinthia Marcelle, Chapter 6 (from the Secession Series: The Tempest), 2018, Cretacolour Monlith 6B Graphite pencil, offset 63 gr paper , 33 x 27 cm (each). Art Jameel Collection. Photo courtesy of the artist and Vermelho Gallery.

تفاصيل عن العمل

الفنان

سينثيا مارسيل

العنوان

الفصل السادس (من "سيساشن سيريز: ذا تمبيست")

التاريخ

2014

الوسائط المستخدمة

رصاص غرافيتي- كريتا كولور مونليث 6 ب ورق أوفست 63 غ

المقاييس

33 x 27 سم (للوحة)

التقدير

مجموعة فن جميل

سيرة الفنان الذاتية

سينثيا مارسيل (مواليد 1974 بالبرازيل) مقيمة في ساو باولو بالبرازيل.

تهتم سينثيا مارسيل بالعديد من العمليات الفنية، وتسعى وراء المادة الخام لعملها بين العلاقات الاجتماعية والفوضى اليومية المحيطة بها. تعبّر أعمالها من خلال الرسومات والملصقات والصور واللوحات والفيديو والتركيبات عن البيئات الحضرية والطبيعية، وتحمل بين طيّاتها شخصيةً زمنية حاضرة في استكشاف التكرار وتراكم الفراغ. تسلّط سينثيا الضوء على الأشياء وتبعثرها لتخلق تداخلات تطرح إعادة تنظيمٍ شكليّة للأغراض والمواقف اليومية. 

أقامت سينثيا معارض فردية مؤخراً في كاسا دو بانديرانتي بساوباولو (2018)، وبارك لاج بريو دي جانيرو (2018)، ومودرن آرت أكسفورد بأكسفورد (2018)، ولوجان سنتر بشيكاجو (2017)، ومتحف الفن الحديث بي إس وان بنيويورك (2016)، ومركز بانكو الثقافي البرازيلي بريو دي جانيرو (2013). كما أُدرج عملها في معارض جماعية بارزة في متحف الشتات الأفريقي بسان فرانسيسكو (2019)، وماكسي بروما (2018)، وكاسا أزيتونا ببيلو هوريزونتي (2018)، ومتحف سيول للفنون (2017)، ومتحف ثيسين بورنيميجا بمدريد (2017)، ومتحف جي بول جيتي بلوس أنجلوس (2016)، ومتحف جاراج للفن المعاصر بموسكو (2015). شاركت في بينالي برلين العاشر (2018) ومثّلت البرازيل في بينالي فينيس السابع والخمسون.

مواصفات العمل

تُعنى سينثيا مارسيل بالعديد من الأساليب الفنية، وهي تنشد الحصول على موادها الأوّليّة من العلاقات الاجتماعيّة ومن فوضى الحياة اليوميّة التي تحيط بها. وتعمل مارسيل بالتخطيط والكولاج والصور الفوتوغرافيّة والرسم والڤيديو والتركيب، وتنشغل بالموضوعات المدينيّة وقضايا البيئة الطبيعيّة، فتُضمّن موضوعاتها شخصيّة زمنيّة تتجسّد من خلال رصدها لمظاهر التكرار وتراكم الفضلات. وتُبرِزُ مارسيل حضور الأشياء وتُزعزعه، فتخلق مداخلات تطرح من خلالها صياغة مختلفة لأغراض الحياة اليوميّة وأشيائها وكيناتِها.

والفصل السادس يمثّل مجموعة من “حكائك” ابتكرتها الفنانة في دفترها تحمل عنوان “سيساشن سيريز: ذا تمبيست” وهذه سلسلة مؤلّفة من 21 فصلاً. وقد صُنعت الصور من صفحات ورق مطويّة، بالحجم المعتاد لصفحات المطبوعات، ما أوحى بكتاب داخل كتاب. ويُراكم هذا الكتاب سرديّة قائمة على طيّ الورق وحكّ الغرافيت أو فركه فوق الورق، وعلى العلاقة القائمة بين ما هو موجود وما هو غائب، كون الحكّ، أو الفرك، يحتاج على الدوام مرجعاً ملموساً يستند إليه.

روابط أخرى

Cinthia Marcelle

Chapter 6 (from the Secession Series: The Tempest)

Back to collections
Cinthia Marcelle, Chapter 6 (from the Secession Series: The Tempest), 2018, Cretacolour Monlith 6B Graphite pencil, offset 63 gr paper , 33 x 27 cm (each). Art Jameel Collection. Photo courtesy of the artist and Vermelho Gallery.

Artwork Details

Artist

Cinthia Marcelle

Title

Chapter 6 (from the Secession Series: The Tempest)

Date

2014

Medium

Cretacolour Monlith 6B Graphite pencil, offset 63 gr paper

Dimensions

33 x 27 cm (each)

Credit Line

Art Jameel Collection

Artist Biography

Cinthia Marcelle (b.1974) lives and works in Sao Paulo, Brazil.

Cinthia Marcelle is interested in many artistic processes, seeking the raw material of her work in social relations and in the everyday chaos that surrounds her. Working with drawings, collages, photographs, paintings, video and installations, her works reference urban and natural environments, and carry within themselves a temporal character, present in the exploration of repetition and accumulation of waste. Marcelle highlights and disorders things, creating interventions that propose a formal reorganisation of everyday objects and situations.

Cinthia has had recent solo exhibitions at Casa do Bandeirante, Sao Paulo (2018); Parque Lage, Rio de Janeiro (2018); Modern Art Oxford, Oxford (2018); Logan Centre, Chicago (2017); MOMA PS1, New York (2016); and Centro Cultural Banco do Brasil, Rio de Janeiro (2013). Her work has also been included in significant group exhibitions at Museum of the African Diaspora, San Francisco (2019); MAXXI, Rome (2018); Casa Azeitona, Belo Horizonte (2018); Seoul Museum of Art (2017); Thyssen Bornemisza Museum, Madrid (2017), J.Paul Getty Museum, Los Angeles (2016); and Garage Museum of Contemporary Art, Moscow (2015). She participated in the 10th Berlin Biennale (2018) and represented Brazil in the 57th Venice Biennale.

Work Description

Chapter 6 is a set of frottages from an artist book, titled Secession Series: The Tempest, which consists of 21 chapters. The images were made from folded sheets of paper, the same size of the publication pages, creating a kind of book within the book. The book builds a narrative – of this gesture of folding paper, and rubbing graphite over the paper – and a relationship between what is and what is not present –  as frottage, or tracing, depends on a tangible referent. The support medium becomes a motif in its own right, the variations of the folding pattern relate to a poetic narrative whose gentle action derives from the simultaneous presence and absence of what lies underneath.

Useful Links