غرف الفنّانين:  لاله روخ

اكتسبت لاله روخ شهرة في أوساط الفن العالمية في وقت متأخر من مسيرتها الفنية، بيد أنها كانت، وما تزال، شخصية مؤثرة بشكل كبير في باكستان وجنوب آسيا لدى أجيال من الفنانين والمجتمع على نطاق أوسع. وتضم غرفة الفنانة هذه أعمال ضمن مختلف الوسائط، وتمتد إلى فترة 22 عاماً، وتتضمن عمل الرسوم المتحركة “روباك” والذي يعتمد على ضربات إيقاعية على الطبلة الكلاسيكية الهندوستانية، وبنية مكونة من سبع ضربات، وأيضاً، وإلى جانب أعمال أخرى، هناك عمل صورة المرآة 3-1، والذي قدمته رداً على أعمال الشغب التي اندلعت في أعقاب هدم مسجد بابري في مدينة أيوديا في العام 1992.

تضم غرف الفنّانين سلسلة من المعارض الفردية لمجموعة من الفنانين المؤثرين والمبدعين، والأعمال مستمدة إلى حد بعيد من مجموعة فن جميل، بتركيز على فناني الشرق الأوسط، وجنوب آسيا، وأفريقيا. وتمثل هذه العروض التقديمية الموجزة أعمالاً مشتركة، تم تنظيمها بالحوار مع الفنانة، وتتضمن بعض هذه العروض تكليفات جديدة. ويُقدم شتاء 19-2018 قاعات لكل من مها ملوح، ومنيرة الصلح، ولاله روخ، وشيهارو شيوتا في الصالات 1 و2 و3 و10.

لاله روخ (2017-1948)،مواليد لاهور، باكستان

درست لاله روخ الفن في جامعة البنجاب في لاهور، باكستان، وجامعة شيكاغو، في الولايات المتّحدة الأميركيّة. قامت بتدريس الفن على مدى 30 عاماً في كليّة الفنون الجميلة بجامعة البنجاب، وفي المدرسة الوطنيّة للفنون، حيث وضعت برنامج الماجستير )الفخري( في الفنون البصريّة في العام 2000. بعد تقاعدها من التعليم، كرّست لاله روخ وقتها للعمل في الاستديو الخاص بها في مدينة لاهور. وباتت تحظى بمكانة ريادية في طليعة الفنّانات الناشطات في القضايا النسائية في منطقة جنوبي آسيا. وآخر ظهور لعمل روخ كان في قمة دكا للفنون في العام 2018، وقبلها في “دوكيومينتا 14” في أثينا عام 2017، وبينالي ينتشوان عام 2016، وفي “دروينج روم” في لندن عام 2017، وبينالي الشارقة الثانية عشر في العام 2015. ويمثّل روخ وأعمالها  “غراي نويز” في دبي.

انـظر جميع الفعاليات

Artist’s Rooms: Lala Rukh

Lala Rukh was recognised by the international art world late in her life, but has been—and is — extraordinarily influential in Pakistan and South Asia on generations of artists and society-at-large. This Artist’s Room features works in various media and spanning a 22-year-period, including the animation Rupak, based on the percussive scheme of a Hindustani classical taal with a seven-beat structure, plus, among other works, Mirror Image 1–3, made in response to riots that erupted after the demolition of the Babri Mosque in Ayodhya in 1992.

Drawn largely from the Art Jameel Collection, Artist’s Rooms is a series of solo exhibitions by influential, innovative artists, with particular focus on practitioners from the Middle East, South Asia and Africa. These capsule shows are collaborative: curated in dialogue with the artist, with some presentations including new commissions. Winter 2018-19 features rooms by Maha Malluh, Mounira Al Solh, Lala Rukh and Chiharu Shiota in galleries 1, 2, 3 and 10.

Lala Rukh (1948 – 2017) born Lahore, Pakistan

Lala Rukh studied art at Punjab University, Lahore, Pakistan (MFA) and University of Chicago, Chicago, USA (MFA). She taught for 30 years at Punjab University, Department of Fine Art and the National College of Arts where she set up the MA (Hons) Visual Art Program in the year 2000. After retiring from teaching, Lala Rukh devoted her time in her studio in Lahore and to activism, becoming known as among the foremost feminist activist artists of South Asia. Lala’s work was most recently exhibited at Dhaka Art Summit (2018), Documenta 14, Athens (2017), Yinchuan Biennial (2016), Drawing Room, London (2017), and Sharjah Biennial 12 (2015). The Estate of Lala Rukh is represented by Grey Noise, Dubai.

 

SEE ALL EVENTS