موفات تاكاديوا

معلومات مستعارة

Moffat Takadiwa, Second Hand Information, 2014, Computer Keys, 220 x 171 x 23 cm. Art Jameel Collection. Photograph courtesy of the artist and Vigo Gallery.

تفاصيل عن العمل

الفنان

موفات تاكاديوا

العنوان

معلومات مستعارة

التاريخ

2014

الوسائط المستخدمة

مفاتيح كمبيوتر

المقاييس

171 x 220 x 23 سم

التقدير

مجموعة فن جميل

سيرة الفنان الذاتية

موفات تاكاديوا (مواليد 1983) مقيم في زيمبابوي.

موفات تاكاديوا شخصيةٌ بارزة وسط جيل فناني ما بعد الاستقلال في زيمبابوي. يتعامل مع الثقافة المادية والروحانية والبيئية من خلال أعمالٍ تنسج أغراضاً يومية صغيرة مُهملة لتصنع أشكالاً عضوية تذكّرنا بالمشغولات المُرصّعة بالجواهر أو المينيمالية الشعائرية. يستقي موفات الإلهام الجمالي من تقاليده الشخصية ليعبّر عن مخاوفه من الاستهلاكية وما بعد الاستعمار. تتضمن معارضه الفردية نيكوديم جاليري بلوس آنجلوس (2019)، وتايبرن جاليري بلندن (2017)، ووات إف ذا وورلد بكيب تاون (2016)، ومعرض إف إن بي جوبورج للفنون بجوهانسبرج (2015)، وفيرست فلور جاليري بهراري (2012). شاركت أعماله في معارض جماعية في المتحف الأفريقي للفن المعاصر بمراكش (2019)، وإيفرجولد بروجكتس بسان فرانسيسكو (2018)، ونيست بلاهاي (2018)، ومهرجان واتو الفني ببلجيكا (2017)، وجاليريز لافايت بباريس (2017) من بين معارض أخرى. كان موفات عضواً مؤسساً لفيرست فلور جاليري بهراري (2009) وحصل منذ حينها على العديد من الجوائز منها جائزة الاستحقاق ومعرض كوتكو وجائزة المعرض الوطني لزيمبابوي (2016).

 

مواصفات العمل

يؤلّف موفات تاكاديوا أشكال عضويّة مؤثّرة الوقع على رائيها، توحي بضرب مينيماليّة طقسيّة، وتتكوّن تأليفاته من أغراضٍ من الحياة اليوميّة، كمفاتيح الكمبيوتر وأزراره، عبوات رذاذ الأيروسول، عبوات وقناني الرش، فراشي أسنان مستعملة، وغيرها من الأغراض الصغيرة المهملة. وتُشير خيارات الفنان ووسائطه إلى انشغاله بنزعات الإستهلاك وآثارها، وبقضايا اللامساواة، ومسائل ما بعد الاستعمار والبيئة، مُستمِدّاً الكثير من أساليبه الجماليّة من تقاليد الـ”شونا” في بلده زيمبابواي. كما يعتمد تاكاديوا وسائطه تلك كي يتناول مظاهر الحياة الاستهلاكيّة، والروحانيّة، والمسائل البيئيّة.

ويستحضر “معلومات مستعارة”، الذي يستخدم لوحة مفاتيح كمبيوتر إنكليزيّة اللغة، تراثَ صنائع النسيج في زيمبابوي، كما يتناول نقديّاً الموقع الـ “ما بعد إستعماريّ” والاستعماريّ المتجدّد الذي تحتلّه اللغة الإنجليزيّة اليوم، هذا إضافة إلى تناول الإرث الاستعماريّ لزيمبابواي التي خضعت للتاج البريطانيّ ضمن مستعمرة روديسيا. ويُشير الفنان إلى البعد التقسيميّ للّغة الإنكليزيّة، وإلى جنوحها لتأجيج الانقسامات والفوارق الطبقيّة في مجتمع زيمبابوي، كما إلى قدرتها في تشييد الأسس والمباني المعاصرة للهويّات الثقافيّة وتقويضها في حقبة ما بعد الاستعمار. ويقوم الفنان، عبر فعلٍ تقويضي جامح، بتفكيك اللغة الإنكليزيّة ذاتها وتخريبها، من خلال توزيع المفاتيح توزيعاً إعتباطيّاً، وقلبها رأساً على عقب، ما أفقدها نسقها المناسب للقراءة.

روابط أخرى

See Exhibition

Moffat Takadiwa

Second Hand Information

Back to collections
Moffat Takadiwa, Second Hand Information, 2014, Computer Keys, 220 x 171 x 23 cm. Art Jameel Collection. Photograph courtesy of the artist and Vigo Gallery.

Artwork Details

Artist

Moffat Takadiwa

Title

Second Hand Information

Date

2014

Medium

Computer Keys

Dimensions

220 x 171 x 23 cm

Credit Line

Art Jameel Collection

Artist Biography

Moffat Takadiwa (b.1983) lives and works in Zimbabwe.

Moffat Takadiwa is a leading figure within the post-independence generation of artists in Zimbabwe. He addresses material culture, spirituality and the environment through works that weave discarded small, found everyday objects into organic forms reminiscent of jewel-encrusted excess or ritualistic minimalism. Communicating his concerns of consumerism and post-colonialism, Moffat takes aesthetic inspiration from his own traditions. Recent solo exhibitions include Nicodim Gallery, Los Angeles (2019); Tyburn Gallery, London (2017); Whatiftheworld, Cape Town (2016); FNB Joburg Art Fair, Johannesburg (2015) and First Floor Gallery, Harare (2012). His work has been part of group exhibitions at Museum of African Contemporary Art Al Maaden, Marrakech (2019); Evergold Projects, San Francisco (2018); Nest, The Hague (2018); Watou Art Festival, Belgium (2017); and Galleries Lafayette, Paris (2017), among others. Moffat was a founding member of a First Floor Gallery in Harare (2009) and has since received many awards, including the Award of Merit, Cottco Exhibition and Prize, National Gallery of Zimbabwe (2016).

Work Description

Second Hand Information is made of English-language computer keys, presenting a critical reassessment of post- and neo-colonial aspects of the English language, a legacy of Zimbabwe’s former colonial past as the British Crown colony of Rhodesia. Takadiwa reflects on the divisive nature of English, its tendency to exacerbate class divisions in Zimbabwean society and its power to both shape and undermine contemporary constructions of post-independence cultural identity. 

These computer keys appear to have been woven together like traditional Zimbabwean textiles, but are here modified into a more contemporary aesthetic. In a sharp act of subversion, Takadiwa deconstructs and subverts the English language itself by arranging the keys seemingly randomly so they are not legible in any way. Takadiwa has also turned most of the lettered keys upside down, with the crown rendered invisible; his material strategies embody struggles around the dominance of the English and the urgency of preserving and promoting Bantu languages, as well as other aspects of pre-colonial Zimbabwean culture.

Useful Links

See Exhibition