2020

2020

 

يعد عمل ” الصحراء هي الغابة ” من سونوج دي ونامراتا نيوج ثالث تكليف فني لحديقة الفنان في مركز جميل للفنون. فإلى جوار الحدائق السبع التي صممتها أنوك فوغل، خصّص المركز مساحة  للفنانين للتجريب والزراعة من خلال برنامج تكليف سنوي

يقوم كُل مِن الفنانين بتصميم حديقة تجسد فلسفة محورها “كيفية التفكير مثل غابة”. يبحث العمل في طبيعة الإمارات ويطرح تساؤلات عدة تتمحور حول العلاقات الهرمية ودينامياتها عند محاولة تخيل الصحراء وكأنها غابة.

الحديقة ، كما تم تصورها في مركز جميل للفنون، تترجم بطريقة ما هذه الفكرة، من خلال استكشاف التنوع البيولوجي داخل المناظر الطبيعية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة، حيث الترابط بين وجود الإنسان والماعز والنباتات الطبيعية في هذه البيئة والرواسب المعدنية الطبيعية التي تتشكل في الصحراء.

تضم الحديقة مجموعة مختارة من النباتات الأصلية في دولة الإمارات العربية المتحدة والتي كان يستهلكها البشر والماعز بشكل تقليدي أو عبر استعمالاتها الطبية. تنمو معظم النباتات المختارة للحديقة بشكل طبيعي في البرية، وغالبًا ما يتم اعتبارها حشائش في المناطق التي ترعى فيها الماعز. على مر السنين، ازدادت أعداد بعض الأنواع النباتية بسبب تدجين الماعز، مما أدى إلى قيام المزارعين ورعاة الماعز بزراعة كمية أكبر من النباتات لإطعام الماعز، وأصبحت النباتات الأخرى أكثر ندرة مع زيادة رعي الحيوانات وتغير الظروف البيئية.  تسكن حديقة الفنان أيضًا الرواسب المعدنية أو “اللعقات المعدنية”، والتي غالبًا ما تتشكل على سطح الحجارة أو برك المياه، لتصبح مساحات تجذب الحيوانات والنباتات والبشر للحصول على احتياجاتهم مِنْ المواد المعدنية الأساسية.

الحديقة والتي هي عبارة عن تشابكات معقدة، تطرح استكشافاَ لسياسات الطعام والترويض والعلاقات بين البشر وغير البشر والطريقة التي نرى بها البيئة ونفسرها، وتروي أيضًا التاريخ الفريد لبيئة النباتات في الإمارات العربية المتحدة والعادات الغذائية فيها .

السيرة الذاتية

لاكشمي نيفاس

لاكشمي نيفاس (Lakshmi Nivas) هي منصة متعددة التخصصات في بارودور بولاية كيرالا الهندية. أسستها نامراتا نيوج مع سونوج دي في العام 2018. كان منطلق مشروعات لاكشمي نيفاس هو التدخلات عبر فلسفة التفكير مثل الغابة. عبر نهج  فني وأنثروبولوجي يعتمد على التجريب في الغذاء.

سونوج دي (Sunoj D) (مقيم في بارودور، ولاية كيرالا). تخرج الفنان سونوج دي متخصصاً في الرسم في شيترا كالا باريشاد، بنغالور (2003)، وحصل على درجة الدراسات العليا في الطباعة من جامعة بنغالور.

أعماله عبارة عن تأمل في السياسة وانسيابية المعاني في الخامات النابعة من الارتباط النقدي بالمناظر الطبيعية والعلاقات العديدة التي يشكلها هذا الارتباط. من معارضه المنفردة: “اليوم والأمس في زمن المستقبل”، غاليري زيلبرمان (إسطنبول، 2018)؛ “موضوعات رومانسية من ليال ثملة”، المعرض 320 (نيو دلهي، 2016)؛ “درس نجارة منسي وأغنية حب”، غاليري إس كيه إي (بنغالور، 2013)؛ و”بين الأرض والسماء”، غروسفينور فاديرا (لندن، 2009). كما شارك في  فانت دي فوري (فرنسا، 2017)؛ مشروع ناكيفوبو (كمبالا، أوغندا، 2015)؛ “استكشافات خافتة”، بينالي كوتشي موزيريس (كوتشي، 2014)؛ “أيه آي آر”، (2014)؛  المتحف الوطني للتاريخ الطبيعي (لندن 2012)؛ “عندما تراقبها تنمو”، المتحف الوطني للتاريخ الطبيعي (نيودلهي، 2012)؛ و”أيه آي آر” غازوركس (لندن، 2012).

نامراتا نيوج (Namrata Neog) (مقيمة في بارودور، ولاية كيرالا)

تم تدريب نامراتا نيوج في التاريخ والآثار والأنثروبولوجيا من جامعة دلهي بالهند وجامعة كارديف بالمملكة المتحدة. يدور عملها حول الاستقصاءات النظرية للتفاعل البشري وغير البشري في المشهد الطبيعي وسياسة التمثيل والرؤية. حاصلة على جائزة صندوق سيريل فوكس، جامعة كارديف، التي دعمت عملها البحثي الأثري والأنثروبولوجي في صربيا في 2013-14. عملت في وقت سابق في مركز لندن للأرشيف والأبحاث الأثرية في متحف لندن كباحثة في معهد الآثار بالمملكة المتحدة، خلال العام (2013); معهد علم الآثار (لندن، 2012 – 15)، المتحف الوطني (بلغراد 2013-14). تشمل بعض أعمالها المنشورة “يرى، رأى، مرئي”، وزارة الثقافة في الهند (2017)؛ “تكلموا! صحوة اجتماعية في الهند”، ألمانيا (2013)؛ إضافة إلى مساهمتها ككاتبة في “جسر الهيمالايا” (2015)، في الهند

Artist’s Garden 2020

Artist’s Garden 2020

Sunoj D and Namrata Neog’s intervention begins with the prompt of how to “think like a forest”. Attempting to see through the UAE landscape, this work asks what kinds of negotiations, relationships and hierarchies emerge and submerge if we imagine the desert to be a forest?

The garden, as envisioned at the Jameel Arts Centre, in a way translates this idea, exploring the biodiversity within the UAE landscape, and the interconnectedness of the goat, the human, the plant and the natural mineral deposits that form in the desert.

The garden includes a selection of plants, indigenous to the UAE that are/were traditionally consumed both by humans and goats or used for medicinal purposes. Most of the plants selected for the garden grow naturally in the wilderness, often mistaken as weeds, and in areas where goats graze. Over the years, some plant species have increased in numbers due to the domestication of the goat, resulting in farmers and goat herders growing a larger quantity of plants to feed the goats, and other plants have become scarcer as animal grazing increased and environmental conditions shifted. The Artist’s Garden is also inhabited by mineral deposits or ‘mineral licks’, which often form on the surface of stones or pools of water, becoming spaces that attract animals, plants and humans for their essential mineral nutrients.

A garden of complex entanglements, Desert is a Forest examines the politics of food, domestication, relationships between humans and non-humans, and the way we see and interpret the environment, while also telling the unique history of the UAE’s plant ecology and nutritional habits.

Please download the artist’s text, Desert is a Forest.

Please download a copy of the garden guide, available in English and Arabic

About the Artists 

Lakshmi Nivas

Lakshmi Nivas is an interdisciplinary space in Parudur, Kerala, India, founded by Namrata Neog and Sunoj D in 2018. Lakshmi Nivas’ projects mainly emerge as interventions through the philosophy of how to think like a forest. These collaborative interventions tend to be artistic and anthropological, and involve conservation and experiments in food.

Sunoj D (lives and works in Parudur, Kerala) is a contemporary visual artist. He graduated in painting from Chitra Kala Parishad, Bangalore and with a post-graduate degree in Printmaking from Bangalore University. His works are a reflection on the politics and fluidity of meanings in materials, stemming from a critical engagement with the landscape and the myriad relations that shape it. His selected solo exhibitions include: Today—Yesterday’s Future Tense, Zilberman Gallery (Istanbul, 2018); Romanticized Objects From Drunken Nights, Exhibit 320 (New Delhi, 2016); A Forgotten Carpentry Lesson and a Love Song, Gallery SKE (Bangalore, 2013); Between Land and Sky, Grosvenor Vadehra (London, 2009). He was part of Vent des forêts (France, 2017); Nakivubo Food Forest Project (Uganda, 2015); Whorled Explorations, Kochi-Muziris Biennale (2014); A.i.R Dubai (2014); Natural History Museum (London, 2012); When you watch them grow…, National Museum of Natural History (New Delhi, 2012); and A.i.R Gasworks (London, 2012). Sunoj was awarded the Pollock-Krasner Foundation Grant, 2019.

Namrata Neog (lives and works in Parudur, Kerala) is trained in history, archaeology and anthropology from Delhi University, India and Cardiff University, UK. Her work revolves around inquisitions of human/non-human negotiations in the landscape and the politics of seeing. She was the recipient of the Cyril Fox Award, Cardiff University, which supported her archaeological/anthropological research work in Serbia, 2013-14. She was previously a researcher at the London Archaeological Archive and Research Centre at the Museum of London (2013); the Institute for Archaeology (London, 2012-15) and the National Museum (Belgrade, 2013-14). Some of her published works include the co-edited book See-Saw-Scene (Ministry of Culture, India, 2017); Speak Up! Social Awakening in India (Germany, 2013); and a contribution to Himalayan Bridge (India, 2015).

Sunoj D and Namrata Neog discuss their ideas behind Desert is a Forest.