تعّد ممارسة سو ما، ممارسة رياضية متأصلة في مراقبة وفهم وتطوير بنية الإنسان وشكله فيما يتعلق بها وبالآخرين والمساحة التي يشغلها الجسد، ومن هنا يٌطرح التساؤل حول القدرة على تطوير علاقة تآلفية وحميمية مع الأرض، مثل تلك العلاقة التي تربط الجسد بالحركة والمساحة.

ومما لا شك فيه أن العديد من أشكال التحرك وانسيابية الأجساد تحددها هويات صارمة وحدود مرسومة، ومن هنا تهدف ممارسة سوما إلى استكشاف جوهر الأشكال مما يضع نهجاً للحركة ليس له حدود ولا هوية أو تعريف محدّد.

دعت مجموعة Visualizing Palestine ثنائي ممارسة سوما كريس وبافلينا راي، المقيمان في دبي، إلى إرشاد وتوجيه  المشاركين المهتمين باستكشاف أجسادهم وطبوغرافيا المدن الفلسطينية. وتُعد هذه واحدة من أولى التجارب التي تجريها مجموعة  Visualizing Palestine لتسلط الضوء على التحديات والطموحات التي يطرحها التساؤل حول امكانية التعامل مع البيانات بطرق تجريبية بالإضافة إلى الطرق المرئية.

من خلال ذلك يظهر العمل الفني الأول لمجموعة Visualizing Palestine وهو “إرث وطني”، بالتعاون مع الفنان مروان رشماوي من خلال  حوار الجسد والمساحة الفني.

قد امتلأ التسجيل لورشة العمل هذه. للإنضمام لقائمة الإنتظار الرجاء التواصل عبر [email protected]

تمثل هذه الورشة جزءًا من المعرض وسلسلة الفعاليات المقامة، وهي نتاج التعاون بين مركز جميل للفنون ومجموعة Visualizing Palestine.

سوما

 يعمل كريس كاختصاصي تقويم العظام في دبي بينما تعمل بافلينا كراقصة ومدربة حركة. ونظراً لامتلاكهما أكثر من 30 عامًا من الخبرة، ومعرفةٍ قوية في مجالات تخصصهما، قام الثنائي بصياغة نهجاً للصحة والحركة يشمل إعادة التأهيل من الإصابات وصولاً إلى الأداء الرياضي.

يمتلك كريس وبافلينا خلفيتين مختلفتين ولكنهما متكاملتان؛ فإحداهما أكثر تركيزاً على الجانب الأكاديمي من الإبداعي، والأخرى أكثر تركيزاً على الجانب العلمي منها على الجانب الفني. ومع ذلك، فقد أدرك كلاهما أنه عندما يتعلق الأمر بالبحث عن الحقيقة حول الحالة الإنسانية،  فإن هذين المنظورين مرتبطان جوهريًا. ظهرت سوما إلى حيّز الوجود عندما جُمعت هذه الأفكار والتوجهات سوية.

العمل الفني: إرث وطني

من وحي سلسلة خرائط شديدة التفصيل من فترة الانتداب البريطاني، يقدم المعرض لقطات ثلاثية الأبعاد لمدن وبلدات فلسطين الكبرى حوالي عام 1947، والمبنية على المسح البريطاني الأخير قبل النكبة والبيانات الطبوغرافية من وكالة ناسا.

هذا المشروع لـ Visualizing Palestine القائم بالتعاون مع الفنان مروان رشماوي يحاكي رؤية مستمرة لبناء شراكات مع ممارسي الفن والتصميم والعاملين في الاختصاصات الثقافية. إن عنوان المعرض “إرث وطني” هو اقتباس ساخر لكلمات جون فردريك سالمون، رئيس لجنة مسح فلسطين (1933 – 1938) الذي كتب مرة: “يجب التعامل مع المساحة الطبوغرافية المتقنة كإرث وطني من الطراز الأول”. اكتسبت هذه الكلمات معانٍ جديدة وغير مقصودة في ظل التغيرات الدرامية التي شهدتها المنطقة خلال العقود السبعة الماضية.

لمشاهدة الصور الكاملة للمدن الإحدى والعشرين، يرجى زيارة marsoum.co.

 

انـظر جميع الفعاليات

شارك

قد تكون مهتماً أيضاً بـ

المابثون: خرائط فلسطين المفتوحة
هل سبق لك أن لمست فلسطين

هل سبق لك أن لمست فلسطين

22 فبراير 2020
مساحة المشاريع

قبل عام 1984 : خريطة واحدة ووسائط متعددة

قبل عام 1948 : خريطة واحدة ووسائط متعددة

12 فبراير 2020 - 22 فبراير 2020

مساحة المشاريع

The Soma practice is an athletic practice rooted in the observation, understanding and development of human structure and form, in relation to itself, others and space. If this is the case with a movement practice and the human body, can one develop an intimate relation with land through the body also? Many movement forms are compartmentalised and defined through rigid identities and borders. The Soma practice aims to explore the forms before the forms, creating an approach to movement that has no borders, no strict identity or definition.

Visualizing Palestine has invited the Dubai-based Soma duo, Kris and Pavlina Rai, to guide participants interested in exploring both, their bodies and the topographies of Palestinian cities. This is one of the early experiments by Visualizing Palestine addressing the challenge and ambition of: can the data be engaged with in experiential methods additional to the visual?

Through that, VP’s first artwork, A National Monument—a collaboration with artist Marwan Rechamoui—comes to life through that body space artwork dialogue.

This workshop is now fully booked. To get on the waitlist please email [email protected] 

This workshop is part of an exhibition and series of events, a collaboration between Jameel Arts Centre and Visualizing Palestine.

 

SOMA

Kris is an Osteopath working here in Dubai, Pavlina is a dancer and movement coach. With over 30 years experience between them and an extensive background in their respective fields, they have shaped an approach to health and movement that covers injury rehabilitation all the way to sports performance.

Kris & Pav come from two different yet complementary backgrounds– one being more academic, the other more creative, one being more scientific, the other more artistic. However, they both realised that when it came to seeking truth about the human condition, these two perspectives were intrinsically bound. As they combined their thoughts and ideas together, Soma was born.

The Artwork: A National Monument

Inspired by a series of highly detailed maps of Palestine from the British Mandate period, A National Monument recreates a three-dimensional snapshot of the major Palestinian cities and towns circa 1947, based on the final British surveys before the Nakba, combined with topographic data from NASA.

This work is a collaboration with artist Marwan Rechamoui, building on an ongoing vision to build partnerships with practitioners across art, design and cultural disciplines. The title “A National Monument” is a tongue-in-cheek reference to the words of J. F. Salmon, director of the Palestine Survey (1933-38), who once wrote, “A good topographical survey should be looked upon as a national monument of the first importance.”  Words that take on unintended new meanings in light of the dramatic transformation of the territory over the past seven decades.

To view the full gallery of the 21 cities, please visit marsoum.co.

SEE ALL EVENTS

Share

You may also be interested in

Special events

Pre-1948: One Map, Multiple Mediums

February 12, 2020 - February 22, 2020

Project Space

Special events

Have you ever touched Palestine?

February 22, 2020

Project Space

Workshops

Mapathon: Palestine Open Maps

February 15, 2020

Sahaab