العمارة والحدائق

المبنى

صُمم مركز جميل للفنون، الذي يعد من أوائل مؤسسات الفن المعاصر المستقلة في دبي، بواسطة شركة “سيري آركيتكتس” التي تتخذ من المملكة المتحدة مقراً لها، وتولى الإشراف على التصميم مديرها كريستوفر لي. يتألف المبنى من ثلاثة طوابق تضم صالات عرض، ومركز بحث ومكتبة متاحة لعامة الجمهور، ومساحات مخصصة للمشاريع والفعاليات، وشرفة مكشوفة على السطح مصمّمة للتجهيزات وعروض الأفلام والفعاليات، ومطعم ومتجر ومقهى .

jameelartscentre.org/about/architectureandgardens

يستلهم المركز تصميمه، وكذلك فكرة برنامج تنظيم المعارض بالمركز، من موقع المبنى على خور دبي، حيث نحتت على جدرانه الداخلية والخارجية رسومات بالغة الروعة بهدف إضفاء أقصى قدر من الشعور بالانفتاح والترحاب. تتدفق أشعة الضوء إلى صالات العرض والمكتبة من خلال الحدائق السبع التي تتخلل المبنى، بطريقة تبعث على الراحة والطمأنينة، وتتيح تفاعلاً مباشراً للفنون، والكتب، والمساحة  مع الطبيعة الغنّاء في الهواء. وكونه مبنىً متعدد التخصّصات ، فقد جاء تصميمه على  هيئة سلسلة من المقصورات بأبعاد مختلفة ومتصلة ببعضها البعض من خلال رواق من طابق واحد، ما يوفر أقصى حد ممكن من مرونة التنظيم، حيث تتوفر في المركز منصات مشاريع وعروض تتراوح ما بين الصالات الفردية الصغيرة وحتى صالات العرض ذات الارتفاع المزدوج لتلبية متطلبات التجهيزات المتكاملة وغيرها من الأعمال التي تتطلب قدراً أكبر من الاستعدادات.

ويبدو المبنى معاصراً إلى حد بعيد بالرغم من أن الرواق والحدائق المفتوحة تستوحي تصميمها من التقاليد المعمارية الثرية بتفاصيلها في المنطقة، حيث تكسوه ألواح الألومنيوم الأبيض المتلألئ التي تتداخل مع الأعمدة الخرسانية الرمادية والممرات المكسوة بألواح الموازييك السوداء.

 

الحدائق

صُممت حدائق مركز جميل للفنون من قبل مهندسة االمناظر الطبيعية  أنوك فوغل، وجاءت على هيئة سبع باحات  مستدامة ومفتوحة للهواء الطلق، تشع بنورها على المركز لتستدعي لحظات من التوقف والتأمل.

تمثل كل حديقة بتصميمها وطابعها المتفرد بيئة صحراوية مميزة، وتحمل كلا منها اسم بلد، أو منطقة، أو نوع محدد، وهي حديقة ناميب، حديقة سقطرى، حديقة تشيهواهوا، حديقة أستراليا، حديقة خيط الحرير، الحديقة العربية، وحديقة الغابات الشائكة. تحتوي كل واحدة من هذه الحدائق السبعة على مجموعة من النباتات النحتية التي يعود موطنها الأصلي إلى بيئات  صحراوية مختلفة حول العالم. تضم الحدائق 149 نوعاً من النباتات النادرة مثل شجرة دم التنين، وشجرة أدينيا أوكوتيلو، وأشجار السلحفاة، بالإضافة إلى النباتات المألوفة مثل شجرة الأوة فان وشجرة الصبار .

استوحت فوغل تصميم الحدائق من تاريخ المغامرين النباتيين، وكذلك الطرق التي تمر بها بذور النباتات وأصنافها في جميع أنحاء العالم، ويمكن مشاهدة النباتات ذات المصادر الطبيعية والفريدة من نوعها وهي تقف في مواجهة قطع الموازييك الوردي الناعم والتماثيل المنحوتة  لتشكل معاً مشهداً باعثاً على التأمل داخل صالات العرض والمكتبة وحافزاً للتعليم البيئي لجميع الأعمار. يمكن زيارة قسم ماذا لدينا للحصول على معلومات حول الجولات وورش العمل.

أُنشئت الحديقة الثامنة التي يطلق عليها اسم حديقة الفنان في موقع يتوسط الصالة الثانية والثالثة ويطل على الرواق والخور، وأشرف على تنفيذها مجموعة من الفنانين من خلال التكليفات الفنية والمعارض، لتكون متنفساً للفنانين لممارسة فنونهم والتعبير عن شغفهم بالحياة النباتية ومعنى ورمزية النباتات، أو الاستلهام من خور دبي نفسه، أو التعمق في المواضيع التي تتطرّق إليها   المعارض بالمركز.

Architecture & Gardens

The Building

Jameel Arts Centre, one of the first independent contemporary arts institutions in Dubai, is designed by UK-based Serie Architects led by principal Christopher Lee, with Dubai-based ibda design as consultant architects. The building is comprised of three floors of gallery spaces; an open-access research centre and library; dedicated projects and events spaces; a rooftop terrace designed for installations, film screenings and events; and a restaurant and shop and espresso bar.

The architecture, as well as the thinking behind the Centre’s curatorial programme, is influenced by the building’s position on the Dubai Creek, and includes a subtle play on interior and exterior spaces, aiming to maximise a sense of openness and accessibility. Light is funnelled into the galleries and library through seven gardens which punctuate the building, re-set the mind, and allow art, books and the community to directly interact with flora and the outdoor. Multifunctional in its design, the building is conceived as a series of boxes of varying dimensions that are bound together by a one-storey colonnade. This allows for maximum curatorial flexibility: project and exhibition spaces range from the intimate to double-height galleries for total installations and more imposing works.

While the colonnade and courtyard-style gardens draw on the rich architectural traditions of the region, the building is resolutely contemporary, and clad in a shimmering white aluminium, contrasting with grey fairface concrete pillars and black terrazzo walkways.

The Gardens

The Jameel Arts Centre gardens have been designed by renowned landscape architect Anouk Vogel. Conceived as a series of seven sustainable, open-air courtyards, the gardens funnel light into the Centre and provide moments of pause and reflection.

Each garden has a particular design and character, and each represents a distinct desert environment, named after a country, region or particular species: Namib, Socotra, Chihuahuan, Australian, Silk Floss, Arabian, and Spiny Woodlands. Each of the seven gardens features a collection of sculptural plants native to the world’s varying desert ecosystems. Rare plants, such as dragon blood, adenia ocotillo and turtle plants, as well as more familiar plants, including fan aloe and marble cactus, make up a few of the 149 varieties featured.

Vogel has drawn inspiration from the history of botanical adventurers, as well as the ways in which plant seeds and species journey across the world. The uniquely sourced and landscaped plants are set against soft pink terrazzo and sculptural elements, providing spaces within the galleries and library for reflection as well as environmental education for all ages. Please check the What’s On section for information about tours and workshops.

An eighth garden, set between galleries 2 and 3, and open to the colonnade on the Creekside, is created by artists, via commissions and exhibitions. The Artist’s Garden allows artists to draw on their own practice and interest in flora and the meaning and symbolism of plants, or opt to pick up on the inspiration of the Dubai Creek itself, or touch on the Centre’s curatorial thematics.

The Centre also features site specific installations by local and international artists that interact with the building itself. Two new semi-permanent works from the Art Jameel Collection, are featured as stand-alone works. The Lobby features an interactive work by Lara Favaretto, with views of the Creek.